Majestic 40 at Gardener's Ridge

building a Wisdom Majestic in North Kellyville

Splish Splash

10 Comments

I’ll be having a bath 🙂

This week saw the bathrooms being kitted out with tubs, loos and taps. Unfortunately you will have to take my word for it as we are well and truly locked out now.

How do I know it has been done? Well I’m a regular Miss Marple. The garage door was open and the main floor tiles had been delivered:

GR 21-10-15 001

The boxes for all the sanitary ware that were in the garage are now in the rubbish pile along with a discarded shower frame.

GR 21-10-15 002

NEWS UPDATE

We were able to get in as the front door was wide open when we went to look at the landscaping.

So hot off the press:

Powder room with loo, shower rails and tap:

GR 24-10-15 026

Hmm looks like someone has already christened it 😦

Kitchen with Caroma Quatro tap:

GR 24-10-15 005

Main bathroom with loo and Caroma Stylus Newbury bath:

GR 24-10-15 027

GR 24-10-15 011

Standard Prestige bath spout:

GR 24-10-15 012

En-suite with free standing Caroma Aura 1600 bath & same spout:

GR 24-10-15 014

From a different angle:

GR 24-10-15 016

En-suite toilet:

GR 24-10-15 020

I love these Caroma loos! Quality toilets with a china cistern and soft close lid. Can’t wait to say goodbye to the cheap plastic cisterns and even worse seats in the rental (see below):

GR 21-10-15 007

Bathroom switches complete with labels!:

GR 24-10-15 021

I am so looking forward to having a bath once more, I really miss it. We do have a bath in the current rental but it is a huuuge spa bath. It is so big it is ridiculous, there are actually two seats inside it, it takes ages to fill and I dread to think how much water it actually consumes.

GR 21-10-15 005

[I won’t miss cleaning those stapled on sheer swags or wooden venetian blinds either ]

I have used the spa bath once and it just felt weird, I felt like Billy No Mates, it is definitely a bath made for two. At least there is a ledge all the way round to rest a glass of bubbles on it if you do share 🙂

So I may have gone the other way. The en-suite came with a spa size bath (no bubbles that would be an upgrade) and initially I swapped it for a standard sized bath the same as the one in the bathroom. Then I thought ‘What the heck!’ and upgraded it to a stand alone bath, the Caroma Aura 1600.

Now after mentioning it last week on my blog different friends have inquired as to whether it is – ahem – a suitable size for each of us. Did I try it out in the shop etc?

Well I have to admit to just looking at it on the web and thinking that’ll do! We did try a stand alone bath in a holiday rental and I thought this one looked like that so job done!

I also have to admit that just as hubby has his coffee machine I have annexed that bath as mine 🙂

It will be my treat, my little haven of peace and tranquillity … hopefully!

Not a lot else has happened on site this week apart from the gyprockers doing the Butler’s bulkhead and other bits and pieces . Electrical looks complete with the stair footlights in:

Split level ground floor:

GR 24-10-15 025

Hopefully stop anyone coming home late from falling down the step in the dark.

Staircase footlights:

GR 24-10-15 009

For those of you interested in the internet provisions and NBN here is the NBN enclosure with an 8-Port Cat 6 Patch Panel. Not that I know what it is that was copied straight from the End Panel, I just need it to work!  It is sealed at the moment so we can’t see how neat it is inside (hopefully) or whether it is a mess of spaghetti wires.

GR 24-10-15 001

 

Unfortunately the tilers didn’t make it this week but are booked in for next week instead. Next week also sees the Master wardrobes, the WIP and the cloak cupboard being fitted out with fancy shelving and the painters finishing.

Two months today is Christmas Eve and roughly seven weeks to go until Wisdom shut down for the Christmas holidays and we hope to be in before then. Our SS has said we will be in ‘Well before then’ so now I am keen to get a provisional date for our Practical Completion Inspection (PCI). Once you’ve had a successful PCI it is normally two weeks until you get handover and your keys. Therefore we need our PCI pdq 🙂

What’s left to do?

  • Main floor tiling
  • Internal Painting 2nd & 3rd coats
  • Exterior lower paintwork
  • Shower screens & mirrors
  • Towel rails and toilet roll holders
  • Master, WIP, cloak fit outs
  • Kitchen & Butler’s splashback
  • Driveway
  • Balcony balustrading
  • Air con grills
  • Door furniture
  • Fly screens & doors
  • Carpet

What’s done but needs fixed?

  • Rain garden
  • Bed 3 & 4 wire robes
  • En-suite WC tiling
  • Balcony door double glazed

p.s in case I came across a bit harsh about the rental here’s something I will definitely miss until I can replicate it. A great drying area complete with Hills Hoist Drymaster 42 🙂

GR 09-10-15 087

 

Author: lunar62

Having lived here as a child in the 60's I fell in love with Australia and always hoped to one day be able to visit again. So when the opportunity came to move here with my husband's job we decided nothing ventured nothing gained and decided to go for it even though it was hard to leave our family and friends behind in the UK. So now we're here lock, stock and barrel, children and pets too and embarking on building a new home.

10 thoughts on “Splish Splash

  1. It’s looking so good and so close to completion! Your prestige bath spout looks similar to ours, I love how the water falls in blade from those things. Exciting times!

    • Thanks trixee!
      That’s what I’m hoping that the water comes out like a mini waterfall.

      You must be pretty close to your PCI now.

      • Maybe 3 weeks? They won’t commit to an actual date though.

      • 3 weeks !! 🙂
        You must be getting excited now. I’ve started packing and deep cleaning even though we haven’t got a date yet.

      • I can’t quite bring myself to believe it, so I’m not really getting that excited. I’d be more excited if they’d actually commit to a date! But it has motivated me to get some quotes for curtains, so that’s something I guess!

  2. To be fair, your rental is a nice place, you just cannae make it the way you’d want it. Still, you have had a full hand in your new place. Cannae wait to see it. 🙂

    • True, it is nice and would be even nicer with a fresh lick of paint and new carpet 🙂
      Can’t wait for you to be our first visitor for NYE 2015 🙂 !

  3. I love Miss Marple! Coming along steadily. I don’t dare to write a list yet of all the jobs left to do.

    • Who is your favourite Miss Marple? Mine was Joan Hickson or even Margaret Rutherford who reminded me on my Nanna B. My father will think I’ve lost the plot at this stage :)!

      Your SS must be going double quick time to ensure you get in before Xmas. I hope you are enjoying being back home and being able to visit your site and all the shops you’ve been looking at from Brazil.

      • I don’t have a clue about the actresses, but I use to love reading all the books when I was a teenager. Yes I’m happy with the pace of our house progress Lunar and loving seeing daily progress at last.

Leave a Reply

