Majestic 40 at Gardener's Ridge

building a Wisdom Majestic in North Kellyville

Billy no mates

6 Comments

That’s me this week.

No action on the block with the last tradie sighted last Saturday afternoon putting up the lower roofs’ fascia and guttering. Each week I’m told that the lower roofs will be completed by Friday but nothing happens 😦

This coming week I’m told it will be all go with:

Monday: Lower roofs on

Tuesday/Wednesday: Lower eaves

Friday: Electrical rough in & gas fireplace

Sometime after the eaves it will be the brick acid wash and the lower downpipes fitted and painted. Here’s hoping they all come and party at our place next week!

Billy no mates at home as well as hubby has been in Macau all week on education. (Did you hear my air quotes there??). We were supposed to be having a landscape meeting today, Saturday, but luckily the landscaper re-scheduled as hubby is stranded en-route in Hong Kong due to the cargo hold doors not opening.

Hmm, the only time I got stranded it was a tad different. Prepare for a trip down memory lane…

Winter of 1978/9 in the UK, coldest one for years, and I was travelling by train from Edinburgh to Surrey from boarding school for the half-term holiday. My father was meeting me at Kings Cross station, London after work and we’d go home together. Unfortunately there was a huge snow fall and the trains were disrupted. I finally made it into London in the early hours of the morning, Underground closed, taxis not running so we had to walk from Kings Cross to Waterloo complete with suitcase. Lucky I was in my school uniform of tweed coat and stout lace up shoes then 🙂

No waiting rooms were open at Waterloo so we huddled up together on a bench to wait for the trains to start running in the morning. Some very kind British Rail employee took pity on us and fired up the heating in one of the empty trains waiting on the platform so we could sleep in comfort.

Now fast forward to my other half who is roughing it in the refurbished Quantas Hong Kong Lounge after a night in a hotel. Hmm Business lounge or Platform 9 Waterloo?? Mind you I just had snow, he also has a typhoon to contend with in the vicinity so here’s hoping the turbulence isn’t too bad when he does take off.

typhoon

[information from Hong Kong Observatory]

So what have I been doing apart from stalking the site looking for tradies?

Research! This week I’ve been thinking about pelmets and headboards both of which I fancy making.

pelmet

[photo from The Curtain Boutique http://www.thecurtainboutique.com.au/gallery/pelmets/ ]

Headboard Collage

[My photos from local Allcastle, Clarendon & Wisdom show homes]

Pelmets will be the first project in order to help with the heating/cooling of the house. The internet is a wonderful thing as they say, mind you the phrase a little knowledge is a dangerous thing also springs to mind. So having tracked down a quite informative American youtube video on how to make and cover a pelmet I am raring to go.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RrkQuKebb5Y

Off I trot to Masters to do some pricing research. I was eyeing up an electric nail/staple gun and lengths of timber. I can hear my sister’s heart rate climbing from here 🙂  I’ll be careful I promise, now where is the nearest Accident and Emergency to here??

Next up will be a padded headboard or two in matching fabric to the pelmets courtesy of another useful tutorial from an Australian site – The Home Upholsterer.

http://www.homeupholsterer.com.au/blog/how-to-make-an-upholstered-bedhead-designer-finish-at-a-bargain-price/

I will see it through and it won’t be added to my craft box of unfinished items (one baby bonnet for my eldest now 25 is still lurking at the bottom…)

Perhaps I better watch those instructions again …

p.s Hubby if you are reading this and panicking – relax we are all fine! The coffee machine and I have bonded well in your absence and I haven’t bought any power tools … yet 🙂

Author: lunar62

Having lived here as a child in the 60's I fell in love with Australia and always hoped to one day be able to visit again. So when the opportunity came to move here with my husband's job we decided nothing ventured nothing gained and decided to go for it even though it was hard to leave our family and friends behind in the UK. So now we're here lock, stock and barrel, children and pets too and embarking on building a new home.

6 thoughts on “Billy no mates

  1. Lack of progress is so frustrating! You’ll forget about though when the pace picks up.
    My mum made her own fancy curtain pelmets and did quite a good job, though I do remember at the time thinking she was quite mad.

    • I should have gone for your fancy shadow line ceilings and recessed curtains 🙂
      Mind you goodness knows what Wisdom would have charged for them. My pelmets will be very plain, less chance of me messing them up!

  2. I’ve been trying to stalk for trade presence too. Bit tricky from the other side of the world, so I’m pestering everyone for info! A week of nothing would make me very grumpy right now. I love a trip down memory lane! That’s a good story. I wonder if you’d find a BR employee now who turn heaters on for you. I look forward to seeing your DIY bedheads. I am thinking of making a couple for my daughter’s room. I think I want to make her’s removable/washable which could make it tricky to achieve that nice upholstered look.

    • A week of no trades makes me very grumpy any week 🙂
      My sister and I had a few interesting rail journeys home in our time. At least I didn’t get the compartment of Rugby supporters who looked after her and wouldn’t let her go at the end. “Are you sure he’s your father hen?” 🙂
      For your daughter’s bed heads if they chose a patterned material you could maybe quilt parts of the design using the Trapunto method rather than a tufted button.

  3. Now that’d be a sight. You should finish off the bonnet and getting a picture of either of the boys in it 🙂 And as for the headboards, you could try and recreate a fabric version of the wall collage we had in sunny Raploch in the living room 🙂

    • I can’t remember the collage but I will never forget the two tone bright green loo seat. Good old Raploch and Uni days!
      I thought of you the other day as I am trying to decide on a colour scheme for the guest bedroom.

Leave a Reply

