Majestic 40 at Gardener's Ridge

building a Wisdom Majestic in North Kellyville

Happiness is …

4 Comments

 

… a skinny flat white

 

Well according to my hubby that is. My response would be a chilled Sauvignon Blanc 🙂

Not much happening on the build this week so a light hearted post instead:

He has always been a coffee hound and has taken to Aussie coffee as a duck to water. For friends and family abroad Aussies love their coffee and take it very seriously. He frequents the same cafe in the City such that the baristas know his name and start making his coffee as he enters the premises. I was informed a while back that he didn’t want but needed his own fancy coffee maker in the new house, Nescafe just doesn’t cut it any more. He has been busy researching which would be the right machine for him in his spare time.

Housebythewater posted a blog entry about serious coffee machines a few months ago

https://housebythewater.wordpress.com/2015/02/12/coffee-appliances/

Well back to the present and Mr Caffeine got an award at work and points mean prizes so this is what he chose:

breville coffee maker

Well he was a very happy camper eagerly awaiting his delivery. Off I went to the UK and thought it odd he hadn’t extolled its virtues to me via FaceTime. Delivery took forever but eventually it arrived and he eagerly unwrapped it and there in all its glory was

sunbeam bread maker

A Sunbeam bread maker! Surprise!!

I’m sorry but I laughed .. and laughed .. and laughed 🙂

It finally arrived this week and after reading the instructions and watching tutorials online he has started main lining the caffeine.

[note to my sister: yes he takes it that seriously that he read the manual!!]

Well I’m a green tea with jasmine kind of girl normally but he has won me over to the dark side. He seems to have cracked the coffee side of it pretty quickly but now needs to work on the artistic pouring and pretty patterns.

coffee-art

coffee art photo courtesy of cookdazzle

https://cookdazzle.wordpress.com/2012/11/29/how-to-make-coffee-art/

Now we are searching for the perfect coffee cup to pour it into as our rather eclectic mug collection just doesn’t cut it any more. Personally my Buffy the Vampire easter egg mug has many happy memories for me :).

Hubby would like to add after reading this over my shoulder that more importantly we are searching for the right coffee bean rather than the right cup.

Author: lunar62

Having lived here as a child in the 60's I fell in love with Australia and always hoped to one day be able to visit again. So when the opportunity came to move here with my husband's job we decided nothing ventured nothing gained and decided to go for it even though it was hard to leave our family and friends behind in the UK. So now we're here lock, stock and barrel, children and pets too and embarking on building a new home.

4 thoughts on “Happiness is …

  1. So let me get this straight. Your husband ordered a coffee machine, but got a bread machine? And now he’s roasting beans in the bread machine? Sorry, as a non coffee drinker, I’m a bit dense on the topic. Thank you for linking to my post! If we buy a new coffee machine, I think we’ll go for that Breville, but my husband is still holding onto his 15 year old Krups for dear life.

    • Ha ha! No he ordered the Breville coffee machine but they delivered a bread maker in error. He returned the bread maker and finally got his coffee machine.
      He’s not into roasting his own beans … yet. He’s found a local café that roasts their own beans and is buying them there. He’s just going to slowly work his way through their different varieties.

  2. Oh that’s a funny story. What a great gift though, good work!

    • Thanks trixee!
      I’m quite enjoying having my own personal barista 🙂 Hubby has had to cut down the number of coffees he was making due to the caffeine overload!

Leave a Reply

