Majestic 40 at Gardener's Ridge

building a Wisdom Majestic in North Kellyville

Mythical Beast

18 Comments

Are you sitting comfortably as this is going to be a lengthy epistle….

Griffin

[Griffin from mythortruth.com]

No, I’ve not sighted a griffin but that other mythical beast, our final paperwork, arrived on Thursday 26th February.

The final bundle covered:

  • End Panel
  • Post Contract Variation
  • Construction Plans
  • Amended Progress Payments
  • Progress Claim Certificate

That’s a lot of pages to check, sign and scan.

Builders and Banks can have differing progress payment schedules but this is what Wisdom require:

5%   deposit on signing contract

25% due on completion of concrete slab

20% due on erection of frame and roof trusses

20% due on completion of brickwork

20% due on commencement of internal linings

10% due on practical completion

 

We had paid our 5% deposit way back last year but now we need to pay the difference between our contract price and the contract plus post contract variations price. There is a bit to pay as we have had a few post contract variations what with the split level and all….

Once all the final paperwork is signed and returned complete with remaining deposit then we are handed over to the Production Estimating Team. They are responsible for ordering everything required for the build from bricks and frames down to taps and door handles. They also order the famous portaloo and site fencing, site scrape etc. This takes 10 – 20 working days which will probably mean start of April for us.

Only one problem with the final paperwork and that was again our gas fire. The saga continues and it stretches back all the way to April 2014…

After our Tender presentation in April we asked Wisdom to quote us for a Jetmaster XLR plus gas fire which was to vent out the side of the wall rather than through the Colorbond roof.

Jetmaster XLR plus tonic front in stainless steel with pebbles

A variation was raised with a hefty Provisional Allowance (PA) as the price would be determined after our plans were drawn up. In September Wisdom came back with the price for it which came as a nice surprise as it was substantially less than the PA. The wording had been changed but we assumed that it still reflected what we had requested to be supplied so we signed off on it. First mistake – never assume.

Long story short – final Construction plans different to signed off plans – show wrong fireplace layout affecting house foot print – plans corrected – end panel received – query fireplace wording – realise incorrect flue used – Wisdom say cost more – need to go back to Estimating.

At which point my heart sank, there went signing off our final paperwork in February. So I contacted Jetmaster in Castle Hill to ask what the cost implication would be. Fantastic service from them, they contacted Wisdom as they supply to them and sorted it all out in a day with no price change. Result!

Final paperwork amended quickly and ready to sign off. Printer dies – cheers! Quick trip to Office Works, sign and scan,  send back to Wisdom and to the Bank. Start to chill bubbles to celebrate – job done – signed off. Hold that thought don’t pop the cork just yet….

Wisdom contact us to say the Estimating manager noticed an error with the split level roof, the plans were drawn incorrectly plus there was an extra pit in the rain garden we didn’t need. Better to discover it at this stage than on site. However they had included the corrected plans – turnaround one day. I wish the rest of the paperwork had been so quick 🙂

Finally, finally, finally we signed it all off at the beginning of March.

Wait patiently for Bank to process final paperwork. Well hubby waited patiently I was champing at the bit and three weeks later the Bank says yes :).

 

Happy dance in honour of my Irish roots and St Patrick’s Day last week:

Irish jig

 

Send Bank paperwork to Wisdom to prove we have the funds to commence. Wisdom say it is not the Letter of Authority to Commence Construction (LACC) they require.

Ask Wisdom to talk directly to the Bank, leave the middlemen – us – out of it we only pay for it … After a few days the Bank gives them acceptable paperwork including evidence of funds.

Wisdom now produce a Funding Gap Calculation which is the Cost of the build minus the Construction Loan amount which is a heck of a bit more than 5%. Funds get transferred and finally, finally, finally we are out of Admin. 🙂

Battered and bruised but we got there! I only hope that the Construction phase goes better than the admin phase.

I think I’d rather go through childbirth again than Admin. We signed up with Wisdom in December 2013, land registration was October 2014 and Admin finished March 2015. That’s 15 months to complete – the same as the gestation period of a giraffe. Could be worse – the gestation period of an elephant is 22 months.

 

 

Author: lunar62

Having lived here as a child in the 60's I fell in love with Australia and always hoped to one day be able to visit again. So when the opportunity came to move here with my husband's job we decided nothing ventured nothing gained and decided to go for it even though it was hard to leave our family and friends behind in the UK. So now we're here lock, stock and barrel, children and pets too and embarking on building a new home.

18 thoughts on “Mythical Beast

  1. Congratulations! I feel your relief and share you pain with admin. Ours was a lengthy process too. Going by your gestation periods, I think we’re giving birth to an elephant. Hope it’s not a white one!

    • Thanks trixee. The longest I could find was a frilled shark which has a gestation period of 3.5 years, hopefully we’ll both be in before then!

  2. Yes, quite a saga. Worth it for a fireplace. These things make all the difference between ordinary and flash! Roll on April, I say!

    • Thanks Johanne,
      Looking forward to the fireplace. Now I just need to choose the feature paint colour for its wall.

      • Oh goodness, just read about the shark! I’m also contemplating feature paint for our fireplace wall. Current thoughts are a darker shade of the wall colour. I’m going to blog about it in 2 weeks. Was it you that made that suggestion on my poll? Excellent idea.

      • Sorry wasn’t my idea I was too late to vote by the time I read that entry. I was sure I was following your blog but have just signed up to make sure I don’t miss out in future.
        I’ve already ear marked your coffee post as hubby is after an all singing all dancing machine when we move in. I won’t show him your study chair post or he’ll fall in love with the Herman Miller one.

      • Ha, ha! Yes my wish list is bigger than my wallet too.

  3. Oh my saga indeed! Congratulations on finally finishing off. I’m looking forward to watching the construction part of your build – it is the most exciting, and unlike childbirth you’re going to forget all about the admin saga very soon! 🙂 Cx

    • Thanks C, I hope you’re right 🙂
      I really enjoyed following your blog it was very informative. Have you any plans to post about your landscaping?

      I asked Wisdom for them to show the detail of our fireplace on our plans like they did for you. I even cut and pasted yours and sent it to them as an example. Guess what? That’s exactly what I got – yours – pasted onto our plans….

      • Oh thanks lunar, I found blogs so helpful during the admin stage so I made sure I contributed to the blogging community too. So we have done zero landscaping other than killing weeds and putting up side gates and fences, we are trying to hold out until next year as we are busy saving and planning for a wedding in November. I thought I’d get a break once we’d moved in, but no the next project started! I’m looking forward to seeing what you do for landscaping, a lot of people stop blogging after they move in…I’m the same I still need to do another update hahaha!

        Seriously…can’t believe they copied and pasted what you sent to them. How rude is that – did they take a week to get that back to you as well? Don’t worry – I’m sure they copied that from somewhere to be put onto our plans as well. The fireplace you chose looks amazing can’t wait to see it. I’m thinking of doing some stacked stone inside as the feature fireplace wall, I fell in love with them at Di Lorenzo!

      • Ooh stacked stone would look lovely but pricey. I think I’ve enough Caesarstone samples to coat a wall 🙂 !
        I have just picked up the Taubman’s paint cards today to choose an accent colour for it. This is where I need an interior designer because I don’t have an eye for it.

      • I forgot to say Congratulations on the Wedding 🙂

      • I’ve been looking at stacked stone from different places, you can find it decently priced if you look hard enough. Buying from Di Lorenzo would definitely be way too expensive!!! Anyway, it’s a feature and the fireplace is one of my favourite things in the house and you want to make it even more of a feature, you’ll see what I mean soon enough 😉

        Haha thanks lunar 🙂 It’s been such a roller coaster ride from the house to the wedding…we need a big big break after this!

  4. Feeling your pain with Admin. We are up to quote 3 and they still cant get it right. We have to change the driveway location as it is on the wrong side of the block for the house. We asked them to give us the details of where the driveway needs to go so they sent us a site plan. Upon looking at the plan they had put the wrong house on the block grrrrr. So back to planning again. They keep changing things that we don’t ask to get changed. Getting really frustrating now. Oh we have such a long way to go.

    Good to hear your on the move now. Your fireplace will be lovely. I wish I could have one too but there is no where to put one inside. I am thinking I might put one outside later on, somewhere in the alfresco. We have been told we cant go CDC as our block Lot 313 is mixed zoning. The mixed zoning is only the back left hand corner. Why council did that is beyond me. I just want to get moving, at this rate we will be lucky to even start by December.

    • Which builder and design are you looking at Linda? Do you mean part of your block is classified as Environmental zone then? Shame that you can’t go CDC as they were very quick for us but Council’s setback restrictions are more lenient I believe. Good luck with both the builder and the council.

  5. MCDJ – Miami Executive 16 . Downsizing from 2 storey. We built our first house with Allam and it is proving to be the same experience so far. Yes split Environment zone R2/E4. Yes I believe that Council is more lenient, which in our case is better as we want to push the house over to the right as much as possible probably 1.2 – 1.4 so that we have lots of side access as our block is 18.8 mtr wide. Apparently CDC say min 1.5 due to size dimensions of our block.

    • I like the Miami Executive 16’s Master suite and his ‘n’ hers robes. Have you had to shave anything off the length to fit it on the block? We have the CDC 1.5m side setbacks on our garage wall but it means I have room for a flowerbed by the kitchen/butler’s windows where the house narrows.

      • Our block is 601.6sqm 18.8 frontage and 32 deep. The house is 23.5 long and 13.83 wide. We will only have 4mtr backyard after alfresco directly out the back, but 3.570 side access all the way down the garage side and 1.4m the other side.

Leave a Reply

